X100T: ISO ‘Manual’ Control

One of the reasons I got the X-T2 was the ISO dial. Along with the aperture ring and shutter speed dial, I had full manual control over the key functions. The X100T doesn’t have a dedicated ISO dial. However, the camera is designed to allow for “manual” control over ISO by resetting the Function (Fn) assignment buttons.

I assigned the UP button on the Selector to ISO.


To do this:

  • I went into the Shooting Menu.
  • I selected “Function (Fn) Setting” and pressed the RIGHT button.
  • In the submenu, I pressed the DOWN button to select “Fn2” (the UP button) and pressed the RIGHT button.
  • In the next submenu, I used the UP/DOWN buttons to select “ISO” and pressed OK to assign it to the UP button on the Selector.
  • I pressed the DISP/BACK button to leave the Shooting Menu.

Now, when I’m in shooting mode with an eye in the electronic viewfinder, I press the UP button on the Selector and a list of ISO settings appears along the right edge of the viewfinder screen. I use the UP and DOWN buttons to quickly move through the ISO levels and monitor the effect of each level on the exposure in the viewfinder.

This frees me from the need to take my eye off the viewfinder to return to the shooting menu to adjust ISO. In combination with the aperture ring, the shutter speed dial, and the UP/DOWN ISO buttons on the Selector, my eye never leaves the viewfinder and I have full manual control over the X100T.

I was thinking of assigning ISO to the Fn button next to the shutter button, but I decided to retain its default assignment, which is video.

I’ve kept the Fn button in its default configuration for video.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

