XF56mm F/1.2 – South King Street

The Fujinon XF 56mm f/1.2 was the first lens I bought for the X-T2, which I purchased body only. I shoot a lot of family socials, which are usually in low light, so the 1.2 was very appealing. I also did a lot of research online, and all the reviews were extremely positive.

From the get-go, the 56mm has performed beyond my expectations. I haven’t had a moment’s disappointment with it. However, I hadn’t done an extensive shoot with it until a couple days ago. I specifically set out to test its capability as a walk-around.

I wasn’t disappointed. To date, I’ve tested the XF10-24mm ( First Shoot with XF 10-24mm f/4 on X-T2 and X-T2 + 10-24mm f/4: Old Plantation-style Houses in McCully), XF55-200mm (XF 55-200mm f/3.5-4.8: First Shoot at Magic Island with X-T2 and Hokulea Returns Home After Three-Year Journey and the XF23mm f/2, X-T2 with XF 55-200mm: Night Crew) and XF23mm F/2 (First Shoot with XF 23mm f/2).

I wasn’t completely satisfied with the 10-24, 55-200, and 23 f/2 IQ. Zooming or cropping to anywhere close to 1:1 wasn’t impressive. The 56mm was a different story. I didn’t do any cropping and didn’t have to because the 56mm focal length pretty much pulled everything in very tight. The wide aperture meant high shutter speeds so that 99% of the shots were sharp.

The IQ is unbelievable at 1:1 and even 1:2 zoom-ins in video production.

For this video, I used JPGs SOOC with no editing or cropping.

During the shoot, there were times when I wished I had the 10-24, but the 56’s IQ made up for the lack of zoom. For my purposes, the 56 could serve as a walk-around, but the lack of width was a problem. I’d probably bring the 10-24 along next time.

I ordered the XF16-55mm f/2.8 and XF16mm f/1.4 a couple days ago to improve the IQ of my shots. I’ll be testing them after they arrive.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

